Jump to content


* * * - - 4 votes

Rock Band 4 (PS4, X1) Out Now - Triple Cymbal Expansion Kit Available for Preorder


#481 Tyrok   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   2024 Posts   Joined 10.8 Years Ago  

Posted 23 October 2015 - 12:10 AM

I actually read through the export guide and the FAQs but I'm still confused...so if we already exported all of these games once, do we need to do so again or no? It sounds like we don't but I'm not sure with how they worded a few answers. I kinda hope so as the only one that I no longer have a disc of (but exported) was Lego Rock Band.

It sounds like no more exporting is needed if you have already done it before. Once they add the tracks and link the exports to everyone's account you will be able to just download all the songs. They have some way of telling if you have played RB3 before which will make that export show up in the store for $15 when available.



#482 NvaderJim   Game Ninja CAGiversary!   608 Posts   Joined 11.4 Years Ago  

Posted 25 October 2015 - 07:09 AM

Looks like all the Green Day export content is up on xbox one.

#483 ShirtSizeXXXLXT   Fluffernutter 4LIFE CAGiversary!   194 Posts   Joined 9.3 Years Ago  

ShirtSizeXXXLXT

Posted 25 October 2015 - 07:45 AM

I'm not really contributing much here.  I do want to say that I've been reading all these comments.  I'm so bummed that Harmonix has seemingly messed this one up.  I LOVE Rock Band, and Guitar Hero.  I play drums in real life.  I love these rhythm games.  My buddy picked this up.  I have held off.  I am so glad I did.  Harmonix is a company who cared SO MUCH about quality and the experience.  How could they release this with so many things "not ready".  HOW IS THERE NO ONLINE MULTIPLAYER????  I am seriously baffled by this.  I LOVED going online to play random songs with random people.  It was great jamming and trying to not screw the song up.  I'm surprised by these guys.  It's not like them.  Also, I'm not picking this game up until my ION kit from my 360 is compatible with Xbox One.

http://www.ipetition...etition/ion4RB4



#484 pstriple   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   113 Posts   Joined 10.7 Years Ago  

pstriple

Posted 25 October 2015 - 09:03 AM

I'm not really contributing much here.  I do want to say that I've been reading all these comments.  I'm so bummed that Harmonix has seemingly messed this one up.  I LOVE Rock Band, and Guitar Hero.  I play drums in real life.  I love these rhythm games.  My buddy picked this up.  I have held off.  I am so glad I did.  Harmonix is a company who cared SO MUCH about quality and the experience.  How could they release this with so many things "not ready".  HOW IS THERE NO ONLINE MULTIPLAYER????  I am seriously baffled by this.  I LOVED going online to play random songs with random people.  It was great jamming and trying to not screw the song up.  I'm surprised by these guys.  It's not like them.  Also, I'm not picking this game up until my ION kit from my 360 is compatible with Xbox One.

http://www.ipetition...etition/ion4RB4

 

The game feels like it has a fraction of the budget of the prior games, which makes sense, since prior games had more substantial publisher backing from EA and MTV. So I don't necessarily fault Harmonix for not having some of these features available at launch, but at the same time, this is normally a $60 game (and much more with the instrument bundles), so it's certainly not unreasonable for consumers to expect a product that has at minimum feature parity with its predecessors. As it stands, Rock Band 3 feels like a much more complete game and perhaps remains the best Rock Band experience. The issue of course is people are moving on to current gen consoles and don't have a last gen system (or don't want to get it out of storage) to play old Rock Band games, and this is essentially the justification for Rock Band 4's existence. 

 

I'd say to Harmonix's credit, they definitely did try to get as much support for old instruments as they could, and support for previously bought DLC (granted the process of finding all your old DLC on the platform is almost more trouble than its worth). Unfortunately, Rock Band 4's offerings feel fairly barebones right now, but I am hopeful they will continue to work on this for the December update and beyond. And barebones or not, it still feels like good old Rock Band when I'm actually jamming out to my favorite songs, and I am grateful there's a current gen way to do so now.



#485 even13flow   Founder of GamerNation CAGiversary!   420 Posts   Joined 5.9 Years Ago  

Posted 25 October 2015 - 12:58 PM

I got burned with my release day band in a box bundle for XB1. I have all my old instruments but they are old and dusty, I wanted the new sets because of the supposedly better build quality, etc.

 

Right out of the box my blue drum pad didn't work at all, and the guitar started messing up after just two songs. I returned it and I'm not sure when I'll bite on this again. The launch was a complete disaster in my opinion, they should have just delayed until everything was ready.



#486 Bleedingwickedly   CAG CAGiversary!   2732 Posts   Joined 7.3 Years Ago  

Bleedingwickedly

Posted 25 October 2015 - 01:27 PM

They did say, it was going to be more of a platform this time, and they will keep adding features. As someone that only played RB 1-2, I've had a lot of fun with it so far. Wish I could figure out a way to export the songs from 1-3 to 4. Since a new disc for RB3(ps3) is $100 I guess I'll just have to buy the dlc songs instead. After they have the RB3 export working, will those songs be available as dlc to purchase?

#487 XSpark210X   Yeah... CAGiversary!   631 Posts   Joined 5.6 Years Ago  

Posted 25 October 2015 - 03:24 PM

Not having online right now is OK because I usually play with others locally anyway. I only played rock band 1 so this is an upgrade to me at least. Planning on buying a sealed rock band 2 off ebay for the export code as well.

#488 cg8889   Gamer Dad CAGiversary!   970 Posts   Joined 4.6 Years Ago  

Posted 25 October 2015 - 04:44 PM

They did say, it was going to be more of a platform this time, and they will keep adding features. As someone that only played RB 1-2, I've had a lot of fun with it so far. Wish I could figure out a way to export the songs from 1-3 to 4. Since a new disc for RB3(ps3) is $100 I guess I'll just have to buy the dlc songs instead. After they have the RB3 export working, will those songs be available as dlc to purchase?

No they won't get added. If you are lucky enough to find a used copy at GS, you can boot it up on a PS3 which will register you played the game which should qualify you for the export. Have a feeling you'll need to have it exported into RB3 on the PS3 which then it will show up in your downloads for RB4.

#489 Tyrok   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   2024 Posts   Joined 10.8 Years Ago  

Posted 25 October 2015 - 11:50 PM

No they won't get added. If you are lucky enough to find a used copy at GS, you can boot it up on a PS3 which will register you played the game which should qualify you for the export. Have a feeling you'll need to have it exported into RB3 on the PS3 which then it will show up in your downloads for RB4.

Was the game never released digitally on PS3? They said you only have till 10/30 to buy it on XBL as they are losing the rights to keep selling the game past that date.



#490 cg8889   Gamer Dad CAGiversary!   970 Posts   Joined 4.6 Years Ago  

Posted 26 October 2015 - 12:44 AM

Was the game never released digitally on PS3? They said you only have till 10/30 to buy it on XBL as they are losing the rights to keep selling the game past that date.

Could be wrong but don't think it was ever offered on PSN. Think that has a lot to do with PS3 copies being so high in price now as physical was only option for the game on PlayStation.

#491 Irukandji   Lurking and Twerking CAGiversary!   1231 Posts   Joined 10.7 Years Ago  

Posted 26 October 2015 - 01:24 AM

The RB3 export date is a plesant surprise but I'm kind of worried that they are announcing it, yet still have not said anything about the various other exports. 



#492 Bleedingwickedly   CAG CAGiversary!   2732 Posts   Joined 7.3 Years Ago  

Bleedingwickedly

Posted 26 October 2015 - 02:15 AM

No they won't get added. If you are lucky enough to find a used copy at GS, you can boot it up on a PS3 which will register you played the game which should qualify you for the export. Have a feeling you'll need to have it exported into RB3 on the PS3 which then it will show up in your downloads for RB4.


The announcement made it seem like it needed to be a new copy. Is this not the case?

#493 Kezmer   Disgruntled Gamer CAGiversary!   681 Posts   Joined 10.0 Years Ago  

Posted 26 October 2015 - 02:15 AM

Did rock band 3 have an export code? I sold mine along with all my gh RB games but took pictures of all the export codes just in case and blacked them out but if it expires it's prob dead, I got it at launch.
 
 
And they mention buying it digitally will pretty much be able to export right away with no problems and that's only 19.99 on the marketplace, so 35 to get the rb 3 songs isn't horrible(would get a hell of alot more songs than buying other DLC at 1.99 a pop).


My launch copy of RB 3 has a code on the back of the instruction manual. Must have thought we may need it someday

#494 XSpark210X   Yeah... CAGiversary!   631 Posts   Joined 5.6 Years Ago  

Posted 26 October 2015 - 05:30 AM

Looks like on xbox any songs you have yet to download show up when you go to "manage game"
Just downloaded 30 plus songs in one click

#495 wilflare   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   2084 Posts   Joined 7.8 Years Ago  

Posted 26 October 2015 - 05:46 AM

anyone using PS3 (Beatles) instruments with PS4 RB4?

any thoughts? would you prefer to use the new ones instead?



#496 WickedEndoNinja   CAG Veteran CAGiversary!   3553 Posts   Joined 13.1 Years Ago  

WickedEndoNinja

Posted 26 October 2015 - 05:51 AM

Looks like on xbox any songs you have yet to download show up when you go to "manage game"
Just downloaded 30 plus songs in one click

not seeing this



#497 cg8889   Gamer Dad CAGiversary!   970 Posts   Joined 4.6 Years Ago  

Posted 26 October 2015 - 06:06 AM

The announcement made it seem like it needed to be a new copy. Is this not the case?

It's all speculation right now but the RB forums make it sound like as long as you have a physical copy (or digital on Xbox) they can authorize you have played the game, new or used. The codes weren't in the game after the first run so it's not dependent on a code is the general consensus. Harmonix is making it sound like as long as your profile shows you have played RB3, the export option should be available to you. No one will no for sure until it's been clarified how this will go down by Harmonix but this is what the general thoughts are over on the RB forums.

#498 WickedEndoNinja   CAG Veteran CAGiversary!   3553 Posts   Joined 13.1 Years Ago  

WickedEndoNinja

Posted 26 October 2015 - 06:18 AM

It's all speculation right now but the RB forums make it sound like as long as you have a physical copy (or digital on Xbox) they can authorize you have played the game, new or used. The codes weren't in the game after the first run so it's not dependent on a code is the general consensus. Harmonix is making it sound like as long as your profile shows you have played RB3, the export option should be available to you. No one will no for sure until it's been clarified how this will go down by Harmonix but this is what the general thoughts are over on the RB forums.

it will prob happen like your saying but if it doesn't it's kinda messed up RB3 is being pulled from the marketplace end of the month. You would think they would extended there license anther year. Once the export option starts happening people will have to pay out the ass on ebay instead of harmonix making the money. 



#499 Haar  

Posted 26 October 2015 - 06:19 AM

My copy of Rock Band 3 has a random string of letters printed above an ad for Dance Central on the back of the manual. Doesn't even say what it's for or that it's even a code; is that what everyone's referring to?



#500 Kezmer   Disgruntled Gamer CAGiversary!   681 Posts   Joined 10.0 Years Ago  

Posted 26 October 2015 - 03:21 PM

My copy of Rock Band 3 has a random string of letters printed above an ad for Dance Central on the back of the manual. Doesn't even say what it's for or that it's even a code; is that what everyone's referring to?


Same here not sure if thats the code we will need or not

#501 WickedEndoNinja   CAG Veteran CAGiversary!   3553 Posts   Joined 13.1 Years Ago  

WickedEndoNinja

Posted 26 October 2015 - 04:04 PM

My copy of Rock Band 3 has a random string of letters printed above an ad for Dance Central on the back of the manual. Doesn't even say what it's for or that it's even a code; is that what everyone's referring to?

 

Same here not sure if thats the code we will need or not

prob might as well try it when it happens

 

 

and I took pictures of my export codes and might of missed rb3. I took a picture of the bonus track pack that looks like this

 

 

http://www.blogcdn.c...kband2ib530.jpg

 

 

now I'm pretty sure that doesn't also work as the export code so idk if I should purchase rb3 or not on the marketplace to make sure I'm able too. But again if later copies didn't have export codes I'm sure there is some other process to detect you've played/owned it before. 



#502 IXXBLACKOUTXXI   CAG Veteran CAGiversary!   8 Posts   Joined 8.0 Years Ago  

IXXBLACKOUTXXI

Posted 28 October 2015 - 06:06 AM

Rock band 4 legacy adapter back in stock!
http://www.amazon.co...r/dp/B01541ACLQ

#503 WickedEndoNinja   CAG Veteran CAGiversary!   3553 Posts   Joined 13.1 Years Ago  

WickedEndoNinja

Posted 29 October 2015 - 04:45 AM

came across this rhc pack on ebay

 

 

http://www.ebay.com/...n0AAOxygPtSthPE

 

why not 4 bucks for 5 songs? I see they are on the xbone marketplace so should work no problem in 4.



#504 bardockkun   Porn, Kitsch And Firearms CAGiversary!   13084 Posts   Joined 12.8 Years Ago  

bardockkun

Posted 29 October 2015 - 04:54 AM

Rock band 4 legacy adapter back in stock!
http://www.amazon.co...r/dp/B01541ACLQ

Thanks. Ordered one for my comic book shop since they were bitching how they couldn't find one.



#505 flybrione   Guitar Solo CAGiversary!   3242 Posts   Joined 14.7 Years Ago  

Posted 30 October 2015 - 03:24 PM

Hey Best Buy GCU people. Finally the Legacy Adapter Version for Xbox One is in stock at Best Buy.

 

Ordered it this morning. I've been trying to acquire it from Best Buy since release.

 

Rock Band 4 Game with Legacy Adapter Xbox One



#506 KAli1212   CAG Veteran CAGiversary!   37 Posts   Joined 12.3 Years Ago  

KAli1212

Posted 01 November 2015 - 01:46 AM

Hey Best Buy GCU people. Finally the Legacy Adapter Version for Xbox One is in stock at Best Buy.

Ordered it this morning. I've been trying to acquire it from Best Buy since release.

Rock Band 4 Game with Legacy Adapter Xbox One

Saw this last night. Decided to wait it out until Harmonix irons out all the kinks with the DLC and Exporting. Besides, now it's not available for shipping and not in any stores within 250 miles. With all the games coming out in the next three weeks, I'm better off.

#507 Kezmer   Disgruntled Gamer CAGiversary!   681 Posts   Joined 10.0 Years Ago  

Posted 01 November 2015 - 01:33 PM

Saw this last night. Decided to wait it out until Harmonix irons out all the kinks with the DLC and Exporting. Besides, now it's not available for shipping and not in any stores within 250 miles. With all the games coming out in the next three weeks, I'm better off.


Its still fun as ever but I agree I am not even playing the career mode until I get all my export songs

#508 NvaderJim   Game Ninja CAGiversary!   608 Posts   Joined 11.4 Years Ago  

Posted 24 November 2015 - 12:51 PM

http://www.target.co...erm=rock band 4 Xbox target bundle is back in stock



#509 Bleedingwickedly   CAG CAGiversary!   2732 Posts   Joined 7.3 Years Ago  

Bleedingwickedly

Posted 13 December 2015 - 03:09 PM

Rock band 3 export is now available. Can anyone confirm if I can use used ps3 copy for it to work?

#510 jcmw4844   CAG Veteran CAGiversary!   33 Posts   Joined 10.0 Years Ago  

jcmw4844

Posted 13 December 2015 - 03:20 PM

Rock band 3 export is now available. Can anyone confirm if I can use used ps3 copy for it to work?