Restoring some faith in arcades.

V

Virtua

I haven't been to a real arcade since I was a Michigan State Student and freqented "pinball pete's" almost weekly to play MvC2, Capcom vs SNK2, SF:Third Strike, and Metal Slug 2..

Then I go to this bar/restaurant called The Mineshaft in Hartford, Wisconsin, with my girl and one of her friends. I heard the place was really cool, went in to check out the bar, but then my girlfriend tells me there's an arcade upstairs(cause she knows i love games), so I'm thinking, a few old ms.pac-man machines and junk.

Wow. Time Crisis 3. House of the Dead 3. Mo-Cap Boxing. A wall of full cockpit sega racers. Classic games. Ticket redemption games. And the game that turned me into an excited 7 year old seeing NBA Jam for the first time again.. F-Zero AX.

I was so impressed by this game, the cockpit moves along with the game and its even faster than the GC version.. It was $1.50 a play but I played twice. My girlfriend thought my excitement over this place was kinda funny, but she enjoyed the ticket redeption games even. I have to reccomend you check this place out if you live nearby, its one of the best arcades Ive seen in a long, long time, and I hope I see more arcades appear.

Are there still any good Arcades near you?

dave & buster's is alright...it's about 30 minutes away

andretti speed lab is kinda cool, but not a big arcade selection

there's a jillian's, but it's across town so i never go there...

my favorite game is the police 911 mocap series...cool as hell shooting at criminals and having to dodge bullets by ducking and moving...i'm sure people look and laugh, but i say it's fun as hell

what is Jillian's like?

I have never been. Are there any kind of age restriction, and what type of games are at yours

also what type of prices do they have on games?

I live in the middle of Silicon Valley, Bay Area, CA.