Which runs at a cooler temp? On the side or flat?

Machikunas

CAGiversary!
Feedback
9 (100%)
I'm new to having a 360 and it gets pretty hot in my entertainment center. I got the Intercooler but that thing is crazy loud. I figure it'll help a fair amount setting my 360 on top the the shelfs so there aren't walls surrounding it, but which keeps the temperature lower; setting it on it's side or flat? or does it even make a difference? I feel like I read it made a difference before, but I can't find that information now.

Don't use the Intercooler. It messes with the power provided to the 360 and can cause problems. There isn't really a temperature difference related to orientation. Just make sure that the console has ample space in the rear and it is not enclosed (like in an entertainment center).

Just google "360 intercooler problems" to see for yourself. HERE is an example.

[quote name='captmurphy']Don't use the Intercooler. It messes with the power provided to the 360 and can cause problems. There isn't really a temperature difference related to orientation. Just make sure that the console has ample space in the rear and it is not enclosed (like in an entertainment center).

Just google "360 intercooler problems" to see for yourself. HERE is an example.[/quote]

that's only the old intercooler (yes they revised it). most of the problems people have had with the intercooler have been with the old intercooler. just check the article / post date. the revision was made sometime in november. the new intercooler comes in a box and is fine. i've had zero problems at all.

plus, in the unlikely event that the intercooler messes up your 360, nyko will replace your 360.