60gb BC PS3 just died. YLOD

Newl

CAGiversary!
Feedback
2 (100%)
(Damn you Heavy Rain. http://www.cheapassgamer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=297337 )

Playing HR today, 30 minutes into it, there's a part where you look out the window, game/system just shuts off(freezes or something) and now won't boot back on. a green light, a yellow light, red bleeping lights etc.

I'm new to this, I've only had 360s die on me...

What are my options?
What should I do?
Backwards compatible models fetch more on ebay right?
Try to fix myself? I'm sure the warranty is long gone by now...
Pay sony to fix?

Manufacture date March 2007.
60 gb harddrive still in it. Disc stuck inside.

Help a nooby out! (I didn't think it'd ever die) :cry:

I would send it into Sony.
Somebody said something like 120.00 to fix.
60GB B/C is worth that for sure.
Good Luck

Mine died last year. Everything I read says that any repair on those is most likely temporary, so I decided to just buy a slim & use my ps2 to play ps2 games. The only reason I would have considered getting it repaired is for the saves, but luckily I had just recently backed those up so I didn't lose anything. A friend of mine wasn't so lucky, so he sent his to be repaired (not to Sony, to this place: www.gophermods.com)

Send it to sony and get a refurbished system (i.e. newer slim model). You can have the option of getting the same system fixed by sony but even if it gets fixed properly their is a chance it might YLOD again. Also, if I'm not mistaken the refurbished system has a longer warranty then the repaired system.

These threads always worry me. I have a 60 giger from 06 or 07 (somewhere in that time period) and it's running strong. It just makes me wonder when it's going to die. Those old 90 mm processors just run too freaking hot.