Any CAG Comedians or aspiring ones?--doing an open mic

strayfoxx

CAGiversary!
Feedback
1 (100%)
Concurrent with my graduate studies this past year, I've created about 30 minutes of material, with about 5-10 solid, ironed-out minutes with a focus on word arrangement, set-up, and word economy. Its good stuff on paper, the difference is in the delivery and the intangibles (dress, persona, body language, etc), which I'm currently working on for an open-mic in late April.

Just wondering if there's any comedians out there, or avid comedy-show afficionados who can give some advice in making that jump?

I've been doing stand up for about six years now. It's always rough starting out. My only advice is to be yourself and try it out. It's all about trial and error. Keep the stuff that works and re-work or throw away what doesn't. You won't know until you try it on stage.

Don't be afraid to bomb, because it will happen sooner or later. They say it takes roughly five to seven years to figure out your on-stage persona. I think it took me about five... and realistically I'm STILL working on it. Good luck! Let me know if you have any more questions. My website has all my facebook/YouTube links and such.

www.mikeandersoncomedy.com

[quote name='strayfoxx']Concurrent with my graduate studies this past year, I've created about 30 minutes of material, with about 5-10 solid, ironed-out minutes with a focus on word arrangement, set-up, and word economy. Its good stuff on paper, the difference is in the delivery and the intangibles (dress, persona, body language, etc), which I'm currently working on for an open-mic in late April.

Just wondering if there's any comedians out there, or avid comedy-show afficionados who can give some advice in making that jump?[/QUOTE]