Any kind gentlemen care to help me pick out a laptop?

Forest Mercenary

CAGiversary!
Long story short, I'm a high school student, with a pretty respectable income, and money's been burning a hole in my pocket :D So, I started considering buying a notebook computer, if the right deal came along.

http://www.cheapassgamer.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=873593&sid=dfaea280ac3fb3b21006aefec1cc58d0

Well, this deal is perfect. I know very little about computers, and will not be using my notebook for games, unless a deal warrants it. Anyway, my main priority is that the notebook is up-to-date, and will not "age" in a couple years.

I'd like this computer to have lots of memory, and most importantly be fast enough for me to multi-task, and run multiple programs together. I am basically looking for the best deal that will offer the most for my buck.

Thanks in advance.

Are you a chick? Just wondering, the way the title sounds.

By the way, first tell me if you plan on traveling alot with it. If so I recommend a centrino processor laptop. If mostly at home, then a pentium 4 would be good. I can go on and on in more detail too.

Deciding on whether you'll be travelling with it a lot is a big factor. Battery life can really into the CPUs based for desktops.

I'd go with a Compaq Presario. As much as I hate Compaq desktops, their Presario's are fucking amazing for the price. (Usually you can get about 400 off at circuit city or best buy)

if you have the money go with an ibook, (but they are overpriced but well worth it)

umm theres a nice build to order deal going on at office deopt right now for an amd laptop, just looking for it on slickdeals.net or fatwallet.com, and get the upgrades cuz they are well worth it and you get a very decent lap top for like 700