Anyone lived abroad for short periods of time?

Ikohn4ever

CAGiversary!
Feedback
5 (100%)
I am a teacher and this summer I am looking to live abroad for a month or so. I am unsure if I am going to stay in one country or just travel around a lot. Was wondering if anyone has had experience renting an apartment short term, like a month or two abroad. I know I could just google, it but I do trust CAGS opinion over random peoples'. Feel free to add any comments or suggestions.

All I can say is that if you EVER have to apply for a government job and they have to do a SSBI on you, prepare to hand over 10 years of where you have been and what you have done cause they WILL want to know that :(

For me, it's been roughly 50% apartments, 50% extended stay hotels (whether it's a hotel or a bed-and-breakfast-type place). In all instances, though, I was invited to visit for work or I applied for a temporary position, and the contacts/connections to get me lodged and ready to roll were built into the invitation/application.

Hence, I'd focus on the work angle first and let the accommodation/transportation angle sort itself out. That's assuming you're serious about working abroad. If there's a job out there for you, I'm sure the people who will be employing you will be happy to help you out.

I do this less now that I've got a kid, but working abroad for a month or so at a time is a ton of fun. You get a nice slice of living and have enough time to settle in and assume new routines, do new things, so on. I guess it assumes a certain attitude, but if you've got the right mindset it's a great way to get by.

I taught Engrish for 16 week periods in Manila, Santiago, and Seoul... I found roommates at each location, so I'm not sure about the hotels or temp-stay apartments.