Best shoes for standing forever in

varsitygamer

CAGiversary!
Feedback
9 (100%)
So, I work as a production assistant on movies and have a bad habit of absolutely RUINING my shoes by putting so much wear on them (and sweat in them). I just started a new job a couple weeks back, and it became clear to me that my sneakers had to be replaced. On the average day it's not unusual for me to stand for ~14 hours, and I need a pair of sneakers or shoes that accommodate that. Of course, I'd prefer if they were reasonably priced, but at this point I'm willing to sink my money into a more expensive pair of kicks if they're going to last me a while.

So far as brands go, a few fellow PAs have recommended Merrell. I'm totally open to other brands so long as they meet my short list of requirements:

-Padding/Cushion (like I said, standing... sometimes standing in one place... for like 14 hours)
-Breathable
-Water Resistant at least, ideally Waterproof
-Durability
-Not hideous... maybe even cool looking

Input please!

[quote name='Ikohn4ever']i know someone who went to a podiatrist and got custom inserts made, said it feels like walking on a cloud[/quote]God?

You should check out one of those military surplus stores if your area has one. It's been a few years, but last time I went to one they had whole bunch of stuff that will probably fit your needs.

[quote name='VanillaGorilla']God?[/quote]

zod-sticker.gif

[quote name='Veronica Mars']Converse Sneakers have been good to me[/QUOTE]
Chuck Taylor's? Those are the absolute worst to stand around in.

Skating shoes are a good choice, if you want to look dapper. If you want to look like a geriatric mall walker, then buy a pair of New Balance -- they're very comfortable.