Flipping: General Advice and Pointers?

drgnasdt

CAGiversary!
Feedback
2 (100%)
Hey Guys,

I'm still relatively new to CAG, but I recently found out about "flipping," which was described to me as basically buying something (game, system, w/e) from one place and then selling/trading it in for more money/credit at another place.

To me, it seems like a good way to make some money/build some trade credit, especially if I see a game for cheap (e.g. on clearance) and am not particularly interested in playing it.

So I was just wondering if any of you have general advice or pointers on how to do this effectively. Where do you guys determine the trade-in value or sale value of those items (besides eBay)? How do you know that something GS sells for $x.xx can be traded in at BlockBuster for $xx.xx?

I know that this thread might get stolen from FW/SD, so please PM me with responses if you don't want to post here.

Thanks!
drgnasdt :)

P.S. I have bought several Target clearance games (all sealed), so if I were to trade them in at other places, what should I do before bringing them in? Remove the red price stickers (which are sometimes insanely hard to take off), etc.?

First off, welcome to CAG, I hope you find as many deals as a member here as I have over the past 2-3 years.

Second, take a look at the top of the page, on the right you'll see a spot that says CAGWiki. If you click on that, it'll take you to pages where you can find out about penny guides, like when they dropped, which ones and at what stores. Moreover, you can find a rough estimate of trade values for MANY stores(Gamestop, FYE, Gamerush/Blockbuster) on another set of pages within the wiki.

However, if a current value for a game isn't listed or the value is over 3-6 months old, you can always use my method, which gives you a ballpark figure of what to expect from Gamestop at least.