For the PC speaker experts :)

coltyhuxx

CAGiversary!
Hi guys,

This is probably going to be a fairly remedial question but it's one I've not been able to find the answer to online very easily (or clearly).

I'm about to purchase new speakers for my PC; going again with Klipsch.. 2.1's this time.

http://www.amazon.com/Klipsch-ProMe...F8&qid=1364246661&sr=8-1&keywords=klipsch+2.1

My HDTV is also my computer monitor, so I'm wondering if I need special hardware to also make my TV play through these speakers. A simple solution would be the most ideal one for me (rather than having to switch plugs around). Or is there a better multimedia speaker system route to go?

I've been gaming for two decades, but I've never really clear on how to get everything going through one set of shared speakers. I suppose it would be fair to say that I am in no way an audiophile :) If it helps, I have a modern gaming PC (built last year). And my TV has HDMI ports and a headphone jack.

Thanks for any suggestions!

well if you dont get a receiver (which is an expensive yet the best way to go) then simply connecting your speakers to your tvs audio out port will do. I happen to have a 3.5mm audio out on my tv. I use that and mute my tv volume so that the tv speakers dont play.

I have this setup in my room and dont have room for a receiver. It works fine and I am happy with it, it plays audio from all sources this way. If your tv doesn't have a 3.5 audio out then you will simply have to get an adapter. I rec monoprice.com

I got the Yamaha YHT-397, Its $100 more then that but GLORIOUS. All I am seeing is speaker cable connections lol def. get 16AWG, but if it has a headphone jack... you can use a splitter and then extensions to plug it into both PC & TV at once, though it will decrease volume overhead by like 15% or so.