Gaming Laptop Advice

ImpurePhoen1x

CAGiversary!
I'm looking for a decent laptop for college, preferably a decent gaming laptop for no more than around $1600 or $1700. I've been eying the Alienware M11x but want to know if anyone has any other recommendations.

I'm no pro but I've never heard anything good about owning a gaming laptop considering the costs.

you can get a nice laptop that can run any blizzard game and source engine pretty well for half of what you're willing to spend. if you're looking to play stuff like Mass Effect 3 or FFXIV -- well getting a desktop for $1000 or under would easily suffice.

my HP laptop is the former kind of computer, and after 2 years of college that thing has very rarely ever left the desk except to visit home. honestly, if you have that kind of money to throw down, you could get yourself a really high-end gaming experience set up for yourself instead of throwing it all towards portability.

your needs may be different though, but that's my side of it. sorry i couldn't recommend any hardware.

Wrong place. But what do you prefer, a huge/heavy laptop that you can barely carry around or a medium one/small one to be able to carry around easily/enough? Do looks matter? What settings do you want to be able to play on? "Gaming" just doesn't cover it unfortunately.

[quote name='MYFIREMANISHUGE']Wrong place. But what do you prefer, a huge/heavy laptop that you can barely carry around or a medium one/small one to be able to carry around easily/enough? Do looks matter? What settings do you want to be able to play on? "Gaming" just doesn't cover it unfortunately.[/QUOTE]

I'm looking for a small to medium laptop. Looks aren't really an issue and by gaming I simply mean a decent machine that can run games like mass effect on at least medium settings.