Heroes of Newerth - Now Free to Play

j0dy77

CAGiversary!
Feedback
1 (100%)
http://www.heroesofnewerth.com/f2p_splash.php

Got the email this afternoon. I've only played the beta but will have to give the full version a shot. I'm sure the hardcore fans are pissed with this change, similar to the TF2 community rage.

HoN.png

They couldn't compete with LoL, player base wise, when the game wasn't free. Smart move on their part, but it might be too late.

The number of spamming dirtbags that make their userbase has everyone avoiding it.

I suggest no one wastes their time with that "game"

it was bound to happen, I prefer LoL's graphics.

(as for LoL having 15 million unqiue accounts...that's like a few million players with multiple ones. the group I played with each had 4-5 accounts so they could play against lower ranked payers)

I've been playing LoL for about a 15 months and HoN for about 7 months. As a big fan of MOBA games, I suggest everyone give these games a try!

I had to stop playing LoL because it was taking up too much of my time. Very fun, very addicting, and ventro is a must.

I've heard the community can be brutal to newcomers in newerth. I'll have to give both another shot and see how they've come along. I'm on the HoN side for the more realistic graphics.

You failed to mention that they're make it free to play but they're making it obvious by having three account types. Free, People who buy coin, and people who bought the game.

Nothing like 3 classes of people to put the unity in community. Especially since it's free, no one can ever attain the game purchase status.

[quote name='j0dy77']I've heard the community can be brutal to newcomers in newerth. I'll have to give both another shot and see how they've come along. I'm on the HoN side for the more realistic graphics.[/QUOTE]

Considering F2P players can only play with other F2P players for a little while, I'm sure all the newbies will learn the ropes before placed with veterans.