In Need of Help (Router Related)

D_Icon

CAGiversary!
Feedback
8 (100%)
I have never used routers before, but an uncle (who doesn't know very much either) said that to play my PS3 online without disconnecting and connecting the cable modem I needed a router.

This is what I want to do. I want my PS3 online without having to plug in the modem to it. It's kind of annoying to have to take the modem from my room to the basement, and back again when I need to use the computer.

If I get a router how would I set it up? I have comcast internet hooked up to my computer in my room, and I have the PS3 in the basement. Usually when I play online games on the PS3 I have to take the modem from my room to the basement, and back up again when I need to use the internet on the computer.

Is the router setup process easy? Do I just plug in the ethernet cable instead to the back of the computer to the router? Which router would I get? Any advice appreciated.

At least someone recommend the best wireless router.

I have a computer using a cable modem provided by Comcast internet in one room in the house. I have the PS3 in another room in the house, which router should I get to access the internet on the PS3 without having to bring down the cable modem to the PS3?

I would recommend one of these two routers:

Linksys WRT54GL or the Linksys WRT54G2.

Does your PS3 have WiFi? If it does, then you simply plug in those wireless routers and voila, no more moving the modem.

This should take care of your needs. It's very simple to setup. Put the modem next to the router, then connect them together with an ethernet cable. Once that is done you'll have a fully functioning wireless network that you'll be able to hook up both your PS3 and computer to.

Just make sure that you secure it with a password. The instruction manual should have pictures and other stuff to help you out.