Increasing Internet Speed

IkilledLassic

CAGiversary!
Hi all, and a foreword of thanks to all the help, I appreciate it.

I am new to wireless internet, in fact, Ive been using a wired Linksys for years, with relatively zero problems. I've switched to wireless, and bought the Dlink wireless router, DIR 655. Ive noticed some significant decrease of speed. I expected some drop of speed, but not quite the rate its at. I checked the speed at speedtest.com, and D/L is at 4000, and U/L is at 1000, quite slower then what it was wired, and also, lower then the average for my service provider, Optimum Online.

Is there something outright I could do to improve speed? Is there methods that I am unaware of, such as free programs I could download to increase speed?

A desktop is the host computer and a laptop is on the network.

Thanks again.

I'm not too sure about this but I remember hearing that DLink routers wern't that good and had some compatibility issues.

Is wired faster than wireless on the new router?

[quote name='dragonsho']I'm not too sure about this but I remember hearing that DLink routers wern't that good and had some compatibility issues.

Is wired faster than wireless on the new router?[/quote]

From what I can tell, the wireless is slower then the wired linksys. Thats about how technical I can get. The D-Link did recieve some good ratings from several outlet sources such as CNet, but Im not sure how much stock they have in the grand scheme of things.

A wireless connection will always be slower than a wired connection but I see the router you bought is capable of N speeds. What is the laptop capable of b\g\n speeds? N is the fastest...G is probably the norm now...and b is the oldest of the three. If the laptop is running on b you would notice a difference. You also need to take into account the distance between you and the router, what's in between you and the signal, and any settings (on the router or otherwise) that may limit your speed.