Is Final Fantasy XII worth it?

DrunkTigerWoods

CAGiversary!
Feedback
12 (92%)
I started playing it the other day and im about 3 hours into the game and im very bored. I realize thats not very far but I find the story and characters are uninteresting and I do not like the combat system. I recently finished FFII and although it had problems, I found it more enjoyable to play though. I just want to know does it get better or should I just quit now?

I found the battle system confusing. Overall the game feels like an MMO without an internet connection which I really didn't like.

I really liked FFX though, 12 just seemed boring and drab story and color wise.

I just picked up this game...
Combat system is totally different than previous FF games..

I am too used to the turn based system.. still trying to get use to this..

[quote name='harunim']I just picked up this game...
Combat system is totally different than previous FF games..

I am too used to the turn based system.. still trying to get use to this..[/QUOTE]

I just finished the game last week, and loved the experience. I think it has one of the better stories (IMO, up there with FF6).

That being said, my one real gripe was the gambit system early on. Because you have to buy/find gambits before you can use them, it limits your ability to automate things. It helps to know that 'Ally: any' (or something like that) can be used to trigger status effect spells (e.g. Blindna).
- Buy 6 golden amulets as soon as you can (doubling AP earned makes the license board much easier to work with).
- Check a FAQ / guide early to find out what chests you can't open if you want to obtain the Zodiac Spear!!!
- Don't wait to obtain quickenings for your key characters; when you have them all, your characters will have triple their normal MP.