Jet Grind Radio...kinda sucks?

mattstockton12

CAGiversary!
Feedback
4 (100%)
Woooah! Hold it right there. Don't hurt me yet.

I just got done playing Jet Set Radio Future. I found it to be very awesome with very fluid and smooth controls (with the exception of the apparent inability to stop grinding when needed). I was overall very happy with the game.

Then I realized that, hey, I never did finish Jet Grind Radio! I could get more sweet sweet grafitti action! So I popped it back in and loaded up my save file. Then I started playing...

Holy...Crap. I had not noticed how many levels above the original that JSRF is. JGR was sluggish and the character didn't respond well at all. Not to mention the fact that you have to avoid the enemies as opposed to defeating them and you have a freaking time limit (yuck). Now, I'd say JGR is still a decent game, but I honestly don't think I can finish it with the knowledge of JSRF.

Anyone else have similar problems moving back to older games? It kinda makes me sad and it also makes me wonder how I ever played the game in the first place! Maybe I just need more patience with it.

Wow, this is interesting. I picket up JGR for a few bucks many years ago (before I got my Xbox). I played it, and though everyone loved it, I really didn't. Something never clicked. What's amazing is, I got JGRF with my Xbox for free, and since I didn't like the original, I've never played it.

Now I'm beginning to wonder if that was a huge mistake. I might have to add that to my huge backlog. Might as well give it a try, see if I like that one better.

I think they are both good games, but yes, JSRF fixed and improved many of the issues I had with JGR and that makes it quite a bit more enjoyable.

I enjoyed JGR more since JSRF seemed too easy to me, the final boss in JGR was also harder and more enjoyable for me to beat. I enjoyed both games though, and hope they make another game someday.