Looking at getting a stand alone Car / GPS map... thing

Gourd

CAGiversary!
As you can tell by my title, I have no knowledge of these things at all.

I'm part of a volunteer program where I drive the elderly to doctor's appointments, and often times the instructions from the volunteer organization get me lost.

I'm looking to spend about 400 dollars or so, but don't want a dedicated one car only solution. I'd like something I could move from car to car that hopefully won't involve adhering it to surfaces.

Cheapass Gamer tends to come through on advice on this sort of thing, so checking here. Searches turn up results from over a year or two years ago, so I think it's okay to ask again; electronics become obsolete so quickly.

If anyone has any advice, or could point me to a good site to read about /current/ state of the art in GPS systems, that would be great.

Thanks for reading this.

i got the garmin c550 streetpilot...it works great for me...this model comes w/the fm traffic receiver built in, so it will direct me around traffic build up. There is a monthly fee for that, if you don't really need it, then you don't have to sign up for it. This one is shaped like a really small crt tv...they have other models that are shaped more like palm pilots, so it is a lot easier to walk around with it...amazon has this model for $350, for about $20 you can get a weighted mount that plops down on the dash, you can remove it and place it in another call if you want.

amazon is a good place to buy these things - i bought a lower end garmin (220) after trying one of the fancier garmins (400) and was happy with it -- you should watch the prices as i found daily fluctuation on amazon

I've got the Mio C310x. Picked it up at Staples for about $180ish. It has been absolutely fantastic so far. I've owned it about a year and used it for about 10 or so trips.