Monitor VS TV?

Jest

CAGiversary!
Feedback
8 (100%)
I went through 3 pages or so and haven't seen one of these threads.

I'm looking to buy a TV or monitor for my room. I'm a college student without much room so I'm looking around the 24-27inch range. It would be used to play PS3/360 mostly, watch Blurays/DVDs, and I'd occasionally hook my notebook up to it when I need more screen realestate or when watching stuff I download.

Anyone know how 1920x1200 effects the PS3 and Xbox through HDMI? Right not I am leaning towards a monitor, because of the higher resoultion. I don't think I want to spend the extra money to get a 1080p TV at that size. There is the T260HD which seems like a great fit, but its about $100 more than I want to spend right now. I'm looking at an under $500 budget, hoping for under $400 to keep it under $500 with taxes. Canadian prices by the way -_-.

At that size screen you won't even be able to tell the difference between 720p and 1080p.

Also, if you get an HDTV it will have a tuner (so you can watch TV on it too). A monitor won't have this.

[quote name='tsmvengy']At that size screen you won't even be able to tell the difference between 720p and 1080p.

Also, if you get an HDTV it will have a tuner (so you can watch TV on it too). A monitor won't have this.[/quote]
Newegg sells tuners that hook up to monitors or if he has a desktop PC he can get video cards that will do the same thing.

Whatever you get, try to get something with 1:1 720p or 1080p (obviously preferred) capability. Very few monitors will do anywhere NEAR a decent job scaling, so you need something that will let you do 1:1.

[quote name='dandragonrage']Whatever you get, try to get something with 1:1 720p or 1080p (obviously preferred) capability. Very few monitors will do anywhere NEAR a decent job scaling, so you need something that will let you do 1:1.[/QUOTE]