My theory on why winning format war does NOT mean no promotions

NamelessMC

CAGiversary!
Feedback
3 (100%)
Maybe on equipment, but let me explain.

I'm a techee, but I'm also an economy student, so I know things about cost, target groups, etc.

When Bluray and HDDVD technology was released, as a lot of you are aware, the technology is very expensive. As is the cost of production to reproduce the master films in HD format on each media. The reason studios rarely adopted multi-platform HD media is because frankly, the cost of production for each type would far exceed the profit margins. Especially when you factor double dipping, upconverting DVD players and budget.

When a new media and entertainment technology is released, the prices target an audience called "urban trendsetters" or, in a more understandable language, "upscale enthusiasts". These are the types of people that bought HDTV's back when the only high definition content was on a computer. The people that invested into DVD players back when VHS was king and everyone was saying, "It doesn't look good enough for me to spend $500 on a DVD player". My mom waited until 2001 to buy a DVD player because the price dropped to $250. She bought a Pioneer unit that had progressive scan capabilities.