New House With Limited Electrical Sockets, CAG recs?

ChernobylCow

CAGiversary!
Feedback
32 (100%)
Hey guys, the new place I'm moving into has very few electrical sockets per room (1-2) and to top it off, the rooms have window A/C units that'll occupy those slots. Seeing how its the dead of summer (in Texas, no less), I was wondering if you guys had any recommendations towards some good cheap ass gamer options for power strips. Or even if you have any warnings concerning the A/C units that would super helpful. I'm just not an electrician and this seems like a situation gamers encounter quite often.

power_strip.jpg

Mom and pop hardware stores will sell these dirt cheap. Probably Walmart, etc. too.

Yeah surge protectors are the way to go.

Or if you find those too ugly, you can get those 6 outlet adapters where you take off the wall plate, plug in and screw them in place to give you 6 outlets instead of 2.

Both still limit your options as to where to put stuff that needs plugged in as you still only have outlets on 1-2 of the four walls in the room in your situation.

Is this a house you own?

If so, I would call an electrician. Putting surge protectors on an already stressed system is only going to lead to problems.

Just out of curiosity, how is the overall power setup for the house? Unless it's new and the builder just didn't like power outlets for some reason, you may want to make sure the house can handle plugging in a lot of stuff on each circuit. Not having a lot of power outlets or central air makes it sound like it's an older house, which could mean an older power box, which would mean popping a fuse every time you try to watch a movie and microwave some popcorn at the same time.