New to PSN / How do you change your avatar?

AngryDragon888

CAGiversary!
I'm new to PlayStation (well, at least since the PS one) so forgive my ignorance.  How the hell do you change your PlayStation avatar? (i.e. the block headed face in my forum sig) I'm sure it's something extremely obvious that I'm missing.  Also, I only have a PS Vita if that makes any difference.

In addition, I know that having a Plus account gives you discounts and they also have free games from time to time.  Is a Plus account worth it if you have just the Vita?  In other words, are the free games typically playable on the Vita.

Thanks in advance for any help!

In order to change your avatar you pick Settings (green icon) -> PlayStation Network -> Profile -> Avatar.

As for getting a PS+ subscription... I've been a subscriber since the Instant Game Collection service launched for Vita in November, and these are the games I got out of it so far:

Vita

BlazBlue: Continuum Shift EXTEND (still available)
Chronovolt
Disgaea 3
Foosball 2012 (+PS3)
Germinator (still available)
Gravity Rush (still available)
Jet Set Radio
Knytt Underground (+PS3) (still available)
Ninja Gaiden Sigma Plus
Pinball Arcade (+PS3) (still available)
Plants vs Zombies
Retro City Rampage (+PS3)
Tales from Space: Mutant Blobs Attack
Uncharted: Golden Abyss (still available)
WipEout 2048 (still available)
Zero Escape: Virtue's Last Reward (scheduled for later this month)
Zombie Tycoon II (+PS3)

PSP
Final Fantasy Tactics: The War of the Lions
Gods Eater Burst (scheduled for later this month)
Mega Man Maverick Hunter X
Soulcalibur: Broken Destiny (still available)
Tekken 6