Starter fightstick

drastion

CAGiversary!
I missed out on the wwe deal at gamestop. I got a mortal kombat klassic stick. That turned out to be a mistake because now I really want a standard stick. I doubt I will get into it enough to justify getting a mad catz te.

So I was wondering what a good starter stick would be. Also one that can be modded easily woul be great. That or a good place to get used in good condition te on the cheep.

You should sell off that Mortal Kombat stick and put it toward getting a TE, since they are made of quality parts and will last you quite a long time. It may be $150ish, but it'll save you ALOT of hassle.
The Hori ones on Amazon should be enough for you. http://www.cheapassgamer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=319115

Don't actually bother getting the cheaper ones unless you care about playing on a PS2, as the $30 mayflash ones require power tools and a soldering iron to mod, much less the cost of parts.

A Mad Catz SE stick is a decent starting point for very casual play. However, I would be more inclined to say that you should just go ahead and get a TE instead. The SE stock buttons tend to break down rather easily and modding costs can easily match up with the price of a TE. If you choose to not take fighting games seriously, TE will always have a good resell value. The SE, unless it's really light usage, won't.

Other low end alternatives shouldn't really be considered, namely the Hori EX2 and Tekken 6 wireless. The EX2's base is extremely small and both are a total pain to mod/fix if something goes wrong.

That seems to be general advice to just get the best and be done with it. I wouldn't mind spending the money and probably just give the mk stick to a friend.

My main problem with all these te sticks is all the art on them. I am sure it boosts sales just with they made a plain all black stick. Though the grey art on the super street fighter was nice.