Subletter question for those in the know

varsitygamer

CAGiversary!
Feedback
9 (100%)
So this summer, since I graduated in May, I decided to rent a place in New Haven. The apt I'm renting in the city is a small studio apartment, nothing special, and I'm paying 530$/month. Originally I had intended to stay through August. However, here's the rub.

My girlfriend has been staying with me, (the person renting me the place understood that) and maintenance people have been frequently trying to walk in without knocking (only once succeeding, she keeps the door locked). Additionally, there is construction literally behind our building that begins every day at 6am. We weren't informed prior to moving in. There were a lot of other small annoyances which we were pretty prepared to deal with until we caught a huge ass cockroach crawling across the wall the other day. It is an uncomfortable and unsanitary living situation, and (whether or not the place is safe) it's important that my girlfriend feels safe. And me too, i guess.

So my question is... I didn't sign anything. I gave the guy a check for 795$, the first month and a half month security deposit. I told him on the 20th that we want out, and that he is welcome to keep the security deposit (since im sure he would anyway), but he is insisting it is not enough notice and he will not be able to fill the vacancy and that I should pay him for the whole month of July. I don't think i need to, considering I'm already giving him a half month's rent, and 10 days notice.

Am I in a situation where I could mail him his keys and move out on the 30th and just not pay for July, even if he insists I do? Like i said, i never signed anything, so I'm looking for advice on how to proceed. We can't reasonably be expected to continue to live there (and my girlfriend speculates the exact reason he was subletting was the incessant construction slated for the entire summer). Input?