Taxes Topic

WinnieThePujols

CAGiversary!
Feedback
6 (100%)
I got my tax info today from my employer. I have a few questions...

What online tax service would you recommend that is free? Last year I remember having to re-do the entire thing like three times on a number of different sites, because when you got to the end you'd actually have to pay (despite them claiming it to be free).

Also, can someone try and explain how much taxes you get back? I know it's probably complicated and varies, but... for what it's worth:
- I made about $8,800
- I got taxed like $700+ in federal taxes
- About $120 in state taxes (North Dakota)
- I am a dependent, as my parents will claim me and I live at home
- When I started this job, I picked the thing that taxes me the most per paycheck (so I have the largest tax return)
- I'm a college student that works part-time (does this factor in at all?)

Can anyone estimate how much you think I'd get back? I've heard some people say I'll get all the federal back, some say that I'll get 40% of the federal back... etc... anyone have a confident answer?

I would go with turbotax or the like, during the season, they are practically giving them away at best buy or circuit city after rebates. Plus they usually run a promotion with it, so you get a added value. Also you can get a extra % if you choose to get your refund in the form of a gift card to a retailer... like if you use amazon.com its like free money!!!

You have to pay to file online using TurboTax, just FYI.

Why don't you just use the 1040EZ form? For someone that's not itemizing deductions, doesn't have any capital gains to report, etc. and just has income from one W2 it's very simple. Basically you'll pop different numbers from the W2 in a few boxes and do a little addition and subtraction.

But if you want to look at online services, here is the IRS's page on FreeFile (starts Jan 16th.) Never looked into it myself. http://www.irs.gov/efile/article/0,,id=118986,00.html