Today, I got into the classic bike crashing into the car door accident

Xevious

CAGiversary!
I live in a bike friendly area and I've been riding my bike for over 10 years now. There has been many instances where I would be riding along a series of parked cars and suddenly a car door would open in front of me. Usually I swerve right out of the way in the nick of time.

Today though, some dude got me. I was riding at a fairly slow pace and I was looking at something to my left when I heard a car door opening in front of me. As soon as I turn my head, I smashed right into the door and the handlebars went right into my chest and arm leaving a big red line across it. It was really painful.

The car owner and I were talking and it became apparent that his car door was fucked up. The car owner asked for my insurance which I thought was strange. I told him that I do not have insurance because I have a bike. I suggested that we should call the police and make a police report but he said he didn't want to do that.

We exchanged phone number although I felt weird doing it.

Anyways, I'm back home and I have a bit of a headache and the bruises on my chest.

Has anyone gone through this? I'm hoping this dude doesn't become a pain in the ass. I felt like it was his fault. I'm still trying to calm down from this whole situation.

EDIT:
To be clear. It wasn't as bad as this video.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BJKbXH2cAyI

I didn't fall off my bike

[quote name='pitfallharry219']You should have given him a fake number.[/QUOTE]

Yeah.. that's true. I was still stunned from the accident though (I still am right now).

Still I guess giving him my correct number was the right thing to do for karma reasons. It may bite me in the ass later on. I don't know.

Take some photos of the bruises on your chest. Just to be safe. If he sues you for damages to his car you can counter for your medical bills!