What a crock of shit: PS3 screws owners of older HDTVs

With that kind of attitude it's pretty obvious you weren't planning to buy a PS3 anytime soon if at all.
Wow, I'm so glad you are capable of reading my mind and know my buying habits from one post. I set this thread up to see who else is in the same boat. I don't need the George-W-Bush-esque attack the messenger while ignoring the facts bullshit tactics.

I was fully planning on buying a PS3 once a few good titles come out for it. However, I'm sure as hell not going to buy this "next-gen" system when it cannot give me the HD signal to my HDTV. Take a look at my collection, I have about every system from the NES onwards. I'm not some fanboy, but I think it is ridiculous that I cannot play this "most powerful" system in something above 480p.

I'm not too tech savvy with the interlaced display and progressive scan resolution things, but how can you tell if your TV is an older HDTV like the kind stated in the article?

I'm not too tech savvy with the interlaced display and progressive scan resolution things, but how can you tell if your TV is an older HDTV like the kind stated in the article?
Well, how old is your TV and what display type is it? The main type that is going to be affected is CRT TVs, but that's not to say it won't affect older Plasma or DLP sets either.

[quote name='secretvampire']Well, how old is your TV and what display type is it? The main type that is going to be affected is CRT TVs, but that's not to say it won't affect older Plasma or DLP sets either.[/quote]I think it's a JVC branded LCD type display. Not too sure how old it is because my sister gave it to me when she got a huge plasma TV for her house. It works fine with the 360 though.

[quote name='Ma12kez']I'm not too tech savvy with the interlaced display and progressive scan resolution things, but how can you tell if your TV is an older HDTV like the kind stated in the article?[/QUOTE]
You own a 360 and a HDTV.