What's a good beginner programming book

gareman

CAGiversary!
Feedback
2 (100%)
Maybe this should go in the PC forum but this will probably get more responses and views.

I am looking to try out programming. Can anyone suggest some good comprehensive beginner's books,dvds,programs, or websites.

I have a good grasp on logic (formal and informal), relatively good with computers, and somewhat understand the basic concept of computer programming. So although I have no real applied knowledge I have a relatively good background to understanding programming. I am thinking about classes but all the perquisites will kill the pocket book and probably waste a year or two on pointless classes like CS 100 etc. I am also inclined to be more autodidactic, so I think books and videos are the best for me.

Also any advice as to what program I should start with? Also is XNA a decent programing tool.

What language do you want to program in? Also, what do you want to make? Since you mention XNA, you'd probably want to learn C#, which almost codes itself, but online is a pretty good resource, like Microsoft's MSDN site.

[quote name='SneakyPenguin']What language do you want to program in? Also, what do you want to make? Since you mention XNA, you'd probably want to learn C#, which almost codes itself, but online is a pretty good resource, like Microsoft's MSDN site.[/quote]

Yeah I was thinking C#. I want to try my hand at games and just doing fun programs.

XNA is really obscenely easy to make games with, and C# is easy as shit for simple programs (I whipped a control scheme modifier up in about two hours yesterday, from scratch). But yea, best bet is online resources, as books don't really target games, and if they do, they're C/C++ focused.

I highly recommend C# or Java as a first language.