When to SELL a stock?

cletus

CAGiversary!
Feedback
4 (100%)
This is a question that's been lurking in the back of my mind ever since I started learning about the stock market. I've read lots of stuff about how to pick stocks and when to buy but I don't see much about coming up with a exit plan. I'll sum up the three major ideas I've seen so far but feel free to add your own. I can go into more detail for each one if anyone is interested. As you can see they are almost complete opposites of each other.

1. Find a good company and never sell (call it the Warren Buffet way).
2. Sell when the stock is overvalued vs the fundamentals.
3. Don't try to sell at the top. Sell after a reaction if there is no rally.

On the one hand, you can sell to early and lose out on any subsequent gains. With the amount of volatility in the current market this could be a big missed opportunity. On the other hand, you could wait to long to sell and end up not making any money at all. I think this would piss me off even more then selling right before a stock skyrockets.

I'm going to give a example here and also one of the reasons I'm making this thread. I bought a few hundred shares of Suntrust Bank back when they were about $34. Right now the stock is at $43 and I'm getting a little nervous. I am bullish short term but bearish long term on all financial companies. I'm trying to decide what to do but I can't seem to make a decision. I guess I would just like to get some ideas on how other people decide when to sell. For now I've put in a stop loss order to ease my mind a little.

Sell it only if it's up. If it's up and you want out then get out. Profit is profit no matter how you slice it. You can ALWAYS make more in stocks it's just a matter if you want to risk losing it to get there.

Pull out and swap to mutual funds if you want a safer bet.

(on a side note how long have you had the $ in that stock? If it's under a year and you pull out you're well ahead of the game).

*disclaimer*