Which Bank is really the best to use?

seththefallen

CAGiversary!
Feedback
3 (100%)
After unbelievable strife with Washington Mutual, I'm shopping for a new bank. I'm a student so I don't need to store 100k or anything. Any banks with amazing customer service, free checking etc... I know a lot of people use Bank of America, which makes me wonder if their customer service can be that good. What do you guys think?

Bank of America was good to me when I closed my account with them. Pretty painless. I opened a checking account there to get a $100 bonus. Got the bonus pretty quickly and then closed the account a month or two later. However there was a monthly fee for checking accounts below a certain balance. That's why I closed it.

I have a checking account with BB&T and can't complain. No min balance, no fees - other than the normal things like overdraft, foreign ATM fees, etc.

IMO the key thing is to go with a bank that has branches and ATMs convenient to you. That plus a no fee, no min balance checking acocunt.

For me that was BB&T.

I've had quite a few bad experiences with banks, and remain distrustful.

I opened a checking account at NBC Bank because it was offering a no fee, no min balance, intrest bearing account. About 2 years later, the bank was bought out by SunTrust. These SunTrust idiots ain't fer shit with customer service, and they have tried several times to change my account to one of their regular checking accounts that isn't an intrest bearing one, or one that is but charges a fee, or has a min balance. But, since I signed a contract for it when I was with NBC, they are forced to uphold my account and they HATE ME for it.

If it didn't have a good intrest rate, I would tell these bozo's to kiss by nigger ass and go to a credit union.