Any Sid Meier's Pirates players out there?

jshorr

CAGiversary!
I'd like to get some info on how the game runs on your computer and what rig you have. Mine isn't the fastest by any stretch but I think it's decent and I'm not thrilled with the performance, especially during ship battles. Sailing the caribbean is pretty much fine. Adjusting the video settings don't seem to have much of an affect. I have a P4 2.4a 400mhz fsb, 1.5GB PC133 SDRAM, and a geforce 5900XT 128mb running at agp 4x. I know I could use a newer MB with a faster bus, better memory and agp 8X or pci-e...but the min requirements are like a P3 1ghz....based on what im seeing on my system during the ship battles, it would take 5 minutes for a single turn on a 1 ghz machine :)

I am a tech by trade and I have everything updated properly and actually recently reinstalled XP SP2 a few weeks ago. But your experience with the games performance would be helpful to me. Maybe you really need a new 3GHZ rig to play the game fast? thanks

I have a fast rig, and dont experience any problems.

I have to say that I am suprised that the game has problems on your PC. Based on the specs, yours should be able to handle it.

Do you have the latest video card drivers installed?

Yeah I have everything updated and the latest. I installed it at work on a 2.8 533, 768 ram and a Geforce 4MX 64mb card. It's strange.....some parts of the game run slower at work, but the part that runs real slow at home (ship battles) runs fastet at work than at home....faster bus, 400mhz more CPU, but MUCH crappier video card although it is running at AGP 8X. Other sections, like the land battles, run much faster at home. Very strange. I'm wondering if the ship battles are just extremely CPU intensive and my shower bus, cpu and ram are killing me.

crowbb, what bus speed is your motherboard and what speed AGP do you have, 4x/8x? Thanks.

[quote name='Elrod']I have a fast rig, and dont experience any problems.