Anyone Else Here Ever Played Or Still Play DDR?

Ski Hawk

CAGiversary!
Feedback
145 (100%)
I've been playing for about seven years now, although sadly it seems its popularity has waned since I started. DDRFreak.com is now down, after years of activity. It was my first forum ever. So sad to see it go.

Anyways, I grew up on Extreme, and still play on it regularly at the local arcade (on the way home from college) for fun and to stay in shape. I'm pretty good at it, too:

www.youtube.com/watch?v=LAfa1aDWyv0

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xRTnwCvD_xY&feature=channel_video_title

Anyone else have stories to share?

Had to go on vacation to find a dance machine and instead of DDR I found Pump it Up. Not too much different, 5 pads versus 4 and a slightly better variety of music I'd say. Been a while since I went someplace that had these games though. I'd love a home version if I had space for it.

I always enjoyed the home console versions up to this generation. The first three 360 games were actually quite good in my opinion (in terms of the music, the layout of the games were not as good as the PS2 versions) but it seems they would rather appeal to a trendy pop audience with their newer releases.

Yea i do. Funny yesturday I actually stopped into toys r us in times square in ny to take a piss and at the bottom floor by the ps3 area there was a DDR supernova machine . I played a match.

Played it on a weekly basis in the heyday. The decline of popularity of the game and the arcade as a whole makes it hard to find a machine nowadays. Shame because the home pad is not a good substitute for the arcade stage. I think the last time I played it was a year ago. The 5+ year layoff was not kind to me...