Books written in Video Game's universe

marella152

CAGiversary!
Feedback
12 (100%)
Has anyone read any books or comics that are based on/ continuation of a video game?
I know there has probably been tons of them but I was wondering if any of them are any good. I have always discredited them as most likely being terrible, so I have never picked one up.

The reason I ask is this: I saw a Dragon Age: Origins book at B&N the other day and laughed it off. A few days later I started playing DA and was only about a few hours in. For those of you who have checked out my trade thread know that I recently broke my hand and the cast I am in make sit entirely impossible to play just about anything. I thought about how I could keep myself involved in the Dragon Age universe for a while without the game - I was reminded of the book, and it suddenly didn't seem like a terrible idea.

Sorry for the explanation, but back to the original question: Have you ready any books that stemmed from video games? Did you like them? Would you recommend any?

I look forward to seeing what comes out of this.
- Dom

I've heard the Dragon Age and Mass Effect books are, but I've read some awful ones as well. The Baldur's Gate novel comes to mind. The old Doom books were pretty bad as well as I remember. I never picked up the Warcraft books (this was before Warcraft III) and always wondered about them. In short I think you'll be ok on the Dragon Age books. I'm waiting to get my xbox back and I'm contemplating pick up the books as well.