CAG Kung Fu Question ( for all Martial Arts experts)

LeviathynX

CAGiversary!
Feedback
2 (100%)
I have been taking Hung Gar Kung Fu for about a month or so. I used to take Goju Okinawan Karate, so the adjustment is huge. Anyways, the problem I have is that in my studio, the students partcapate in full contact non-padded sparring. About a week ago one of my friends there had his ribs broken in sparring. So I suppose the question is do I need to move on from this studio?
The idea behind it is that in Kung Fu they believe in Iron body. This is achieved (from what I have been told) by acclimating the body to various levels of pain. In taking a punch I suppose the idea is to help you take a hit and not be knocked out. What are some of the opinions of my fellow cheap asses out there? I'm thinking about asking the Senior brother if this is a required part of the curriculum as I am getting older and not healing as well as some of you whipper snappers. Plus, I'm a teacher so if I'm seriously injured, it hurts my career too! Any help you have toioffer would be fantastic!

Most people who go all out when they are younger and do full contact stuff without properly taking care of their bodies severly pay for it when they get older. Yeah, it's all nice to have an Iron Body now...but in 10-20 years that Iron Body is going to seize up and you'll need a walker by age 45.

There are plenty of martial arts out there. Just find one that's right for you. Obviously this one is not. You have too much to lose to fully apply yourself to this one. Try and find another that you can dedicate yourself to that won't risk your career.

I took martial arts for about 9 years. I held (or I guess still hold) a black belt in my style. But I would never participate in non-padded sparring. You're just asking for trouble.

Anyone who gives you the whole "you need to get used to it" crap is full of it.