college textbooks

You may want to avoid straying to far from those big name sites. I've had some bad experiences.

Try chegg.com or barnes and noble.

But always, the school bookstore is the best way to go. Some textbooks have bundled CDs and study guides that may be required for a class that are exclusive to that school's bookstore.

Chegg is definitely the way to go but there are some other websites that have books for a much cheaper price than Chegg but take over a month to arrive.

If you do not mind renting books CourseSmart.com has pretty decent prices on book rentals. The only downside I have ever had is the books are held online via the CourseSmart site, so no internet access no book, but you can download the entire thing or chapters to your PC or tablet.

Previous editions are the way to go. Cross reference with a fellow classmate since the publishers reorder problems to make the book seem "different" than the previous one. Not much legwork when you consider you can get by with less than $50 in textbooks a semester (unless you have to get a lab manual or workbook).

Used textbooks are frequently sold on Craigslist as well as Facebook's marketplace. eBooks may also be worth considering, and I know Amazon has a pretty wide selection there. Aside from that, I'm not sure, as my university offers a tuition-funded textbook rental service, so I've spent less than $50 total out-of-pocket on textbooks so far. ;)