Comic Collecting?

51jack

Banned
I have always felt comics/video games kinda go hand in hand. Anyone else here big on collecting? If so what is your current collection?

I'd like to think I have a generous comic book collection. I've been collecting since I was a kid, but got out of it for several years during high school and college. I got back into it big time a few years back when Civil War and The Ultimates hit the stands. 70% of my collection is Marvel. I know it's a bit whoreish but it's what I grew up with and what I know. The biggest difference from when I was a kid and now is that in my younger years I collected just to collect. I'd buy every #1 and gold foil bullshit comic I could find. I barely ever read anything, now I collect because I genuinely love the stories. I read everything I buy now.

Now that I have a good job with good pay I can afford all the comics I want. My monthly comic book bill is about $80 having about 30 comics on my pull list. That includes bag, board & shipping. A lot of people think that's crazy but it's a hobby that I enjoy so they can bite me. My bigest problem is storage. I'm running out of space. I store them in these half sized pull-out boxes. Easy access but when they get full it's heavy as fuck. And I just recently moved to an apartment with no elevator, so that wasn't fun.

I don't have many rare comics. I think the rarest ones I own are X-Men #14 (1st Sentinel), Iron Man #55 (1st Thanos) and Marvel Spotlight (1st Ghost Rider) and few more. I'm not a big variant collector either. Only one I have is Kick Ass #1 (JRJ Sketch variant)

I'm a fan of comic books, however my collection consists mostly of trades since most of the time that's what gives me the most content for what I spend.

I do however collect Batman, Sonic and usually pick up a few regulars when I'm at the local shop.