comics question

jerhicurl

CAG Veteran
I'm new to collecting comics, partially for profit and partially for the collecting aspect. I have an opportunity to get 2 sgt fury comics from 1960, 5 richie rich comics from the 60s and about 20 other comics for around a hundred bucks. Is it worth it. I also have to opportunity to buy a lot of about 400 comics for about 200. Can someone give me some advice on starting my collection. Thanks in advance.

Rules for collecting comics (from a 30 year veteran)
1) Buy and read what you like
2) Know that you are spending money on something that may be worth 10 cents in the future. Collecting for profit will usually lead to disappointment.

Also, most comics are more valuable to collectors if they feature a key moment or first appearance of a character. The condition of the book is very important, but a crappy condition Action Comics #1 will always be worth more (to collectors) than a mint condition Action Comics #2.

To really get the best idea of what the individual issues are worth, pick up an Overstreet Price Guide for Comics. You should be able to find one at Barnes & Noble or Borders if your local comic shop doesn't carry it. (If you have a local comic shop, that is)

To say "yes it's worth it" or "no it's not" without more details is impossible.
If you feel you can part with the money and it is stuff that you actually want, then the true value of the comics doesn't matter.

Ebay has totally changed the rules for the collectibles market, for the better in my opinion. Rare issues are so much easier to find now than 20 years ago. It's a fun hobby. For me, a lot of my enjoyment is the "hunt" for a particular issue that will complete your collection or series.

Are you reading anything now?

Last edited by a moderator: