Computer Help!

Krohboy

CAGiversary!
Feedback
1 (100%)
Hey there fellow CAGs! I have a question to ask you guys. I used to love PC gaming (Age of Empires II: Age of Kings was my favorite), but my computer is a terribly outdated Dell that can't even play my copy of Age of Mythology. I'm thinking it's time to upgrade. I don't want the best of the best since I'm a Sophomore in high school, and will probably upgrade in college. I'd like to be able to play games like Gears of War, Age of Empires III, and others (Suggestions?). I have limited budget as I work after school. I'd like to know your guys suggestions on a cheap desktop computer. Keep in mind I'm not going for something that plays high resolution Crysis.

I've never build a computer, but I'm open to the idea of it.

Also one of my friends is looking for a cheap Dell GX150. \

Well you are not going to find any budget machines that can play Gears of War, that is a real system hog. The best thing would be to build it yourself. However you could also look around SD and wait for some Dell deal to come up, which happens pretty often.

Heres some setups for you. A refurb gx150 is about 300$ so I'll try to get these as close as possible.

(Intel Decent setup)
Cheapass Case: 40$
Cheapass PSU: 60$
Cheapass Mobo (P35): 70$
Cheapass Ram 2gb: 60$
Cheapass CPU (c2d 4500): 124$
Cheapass VC(hd 2600 512): 80$
Cheapass HD (80gb): 40$
Cheapass DVD +- Drive: 25$
=499$ before rebates/shipping/tax. Realistic final price.. 480$.

A PC at this price point would be able to play the majority of new games on Med/High settings and would be able to take care of lower end needs with no issue. Lower resolutions. No AA. Obviously, no Crysis.

This would also allow you to upgrade you VC or CPU using a P35 mobo, whenever you want.

(True Cheapass build)
Case: 40$
PSU: 50$
Mobo: 70$
Memory (1gb): 25$
CPU (3gb P4): 67$
VC(2600 hd 256mb): 60$
HD: 40$
DVD Drive: 20$
Total: 372$ Realistic price- 360$