Direct TV - Your Opinions

Psykoboy2

CAGiversary!
Feedback
1 (100%)
Thinking of making the switch from cable to satellite and was wondering what others opinions of the format are.

I currently use digital cable with a TiVo box (series 3 modified with a 1TB hard drive - lifetime service) and I have never used satellite before. How is the quality and the equipment? I'm nowhere near snow so no worries about that but we do get rain storms like anyone else.

I've priced things out and for the first 3 months of service I save nearly $60 each month then I break even (on price...still getting a ton more HD than I would with cable) and then after the first year I'll be paying almost $30 more per month for the rest of the contracted year.

Do the deals ever come back around or will I be stuck with paying $30 more for the rest of my time with the service?

IAfter your contract has expired, they offer all kinds of retention bonuses....of course that normally means another service contract. The offers change all the time but it could be anything from free hardware upgrades to free premium channels or even just a straight discount on your package.

I've been with DTV for over 15 years now and I love it.

I have Direct and really like it. After my two years was up, they gave me every premium channel and the NFL Sunday Ticket for the same price I was paying before. Then they let me switch to a cheaper package after six months. Picture is great, I love the channel selection, and you get the 101, which has shows such as The Wire and Damages.