Finding Internships

v1et r1ce

CAGiversary!
Feedback
35 (100%)
So I'm about to go into my 2nd year of college this Fall majoring in Accounting and Finance. I go to school for 6 months, and then I go on coop for 6 months. Since I have no experience in the field, I am a bit worried in finding a good coop, so I want to find an internship to get some experience.

I tried to find one for the summer, but that didn't work out. What are some ways in finding one?

Go to your school's career center. At this point in your college career, it's probably the best thing you can do, since you probably don't have any contacts who could hook you up at this point.

And FWIW, getting internships in finance is pretty tough, from my experience. I double majored in economics and finance with pretty much straight As (an A- here and there) and frankly, it doesn't mean jack-shit for finding internships in those fields. There's no substitute for experience, unfortunately.

My advice as an accountant? Don't do accounting :D

If you're set on it, kiss as much ass as you possibly can to get a great internship with the big 4 or other large local firms. It will really set your career off the right way. Show up at career fairs, join the professional fraternity (I think it's BAP, I haven't kept up since I joined), and get in good with your professors because odds are that they know people high up in the field. I've become really disenchanted with the whole process because it came off as so snobby and fake to me.. not to mention now that I'm working, I want to bash my head into the cubicle walls from staring at spreadsheets all day. But to each his/her own.

[quote name='QiG']My advice as an accountant? Don't do accounting :D