Games you thought would suck...but didn't

evilpenguin9000

CAGiversary!
This topic is about games you expected to just be godawful, but actually turned out to be pretty good.

For me I expected Def Jam: Fight for NY to blow ass. I was thinking it'd be another lame wrestling title with rappers names attached to sell it. Instead it was really fun.

halo 2 (j/k). i-ninja was seeming too childish for me from the cover, but once i started playing it i was hooked for a couple days.

i remember when my buddy said he was going to run to BB and pick up GTA3 the first day it came out and i said "why do you want to get that game"....

lol...

Blaster Master on the NES. Wow was I suprised.

Harvest Moon was teh big one for me. It's a farm sim, but it friggin' owns.

quackshot for the Genesis and kirby's dream course for the SNES were 2 games I thought would be God awful but turned into very pleasent surprises

I expected nothing from the original Def Jam, but when I played it I was pleasantly surprised. I probably spent a solid 2 weeks playing this game.

With all of the bad reviews it got, I thought Grabbed by the Ghoulies was a bad game. After playing it a little, it was actually pretty fun, or maybe it's because of the $5 price tag.

Alundra on PS1. I went into it thinking "Oh great, another Zelda rip-off." The opening cut-scene for the game didn't help matters. Boy was I wrong, I think it's superior to LoZ:LTTP in almost every way.

I thought Chronicles of Riddick would blow. It was a movie video game after all. Those usually are terrible. But...surprisingly it was a very well crafted game.

Didn't expect much from Alias, but it turned out to be a fun game. I wouldn't call it a great game, but it's fun.