Getting Taxes Done - Reccomendations and Help?

the_grimace

CAGiversary!
Feedback
45 (100%)
This is my first year I'll need to do my taxes on my own. My dad usually would do our whole family's taxes at H+R block every year, and he even did it for me while I was at school. Now that I'm working and far away from home still, I need to get them done but I'm ABSOLUTELY CLUELESS on what the process involves. Like i have no idea where to even start.

My dad strongly recommends just using H+R block since he likes them and said its only $80 or something to file and they know the ins and outs so you don't miss anything and can maximize your return. I've been asking at work though and so far everyone has told me to stay very clear of H+R block. They all have horror stories, saying its mostly temps and interns who do nothing more then use a turbo tax like software and don't really know much more then you would. They said using H+R block is usually just a pain as you will probably have to keep going in many times since the workers keep forgetting to tell you what forms you need and what not, and many have got charged for these multiple visits making their total visits cost near $300....

That being said, a lot have recommended turbo tax, and many more have recommended using a private accountant even though its much more costly. (since a private accountant can really help get your maximized refund)

Regardless, I am curious to try turbo tax. It seems to be up my alley, but I am nervous about screwing up or not reporting many deductible items due to just not knowing them. I also have been warned there are sometimes hidden fees for using the program, and that you need to buy it every year....

What would be the best option for a newbie trying to get his taxes done?

Last edited by a moderator:
youre what, in your mid 20s? theres no way your taxes can be that complicated. just use turbo tax or use any number of websites out there for even less.