Graphics Card Questions

cartman58

CAGiversary!
Feedback
6 (100%)
Warning: I'm a tech idiot.

Currently, I am seeing horizontal and sometimes vertical lines on my screen. Playing a PC game or some websites cause this. I don't believe that it is my monitor, because it only happens sometimes.

So the other main option is the graphics card. I've tried cleaning out the inside of the PC for overheating, checked wiring, checked refresh rate, etc. Nothing.

So I've decided just to go ahead and get a new card. I've got a PCI-Express slot, and from what I've read a PCI-E 2.0 will work.

On a PC I play strategy games at most. I don't play WOW, COD, etc. It's mostly Total War series, Sims 2(girlfriend), and the like.

Found a card on Amazon that doesn't seem terrible, but I don't know ass about graphics cards. Someone tell me why this is or is not a good graphics card.
http://www.amazon.com/EVGA-01G-P3-N...ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=pc&qid=1237694052&sr=1-1

I just want a card that will run the games I play(empire: TW), be somewhat budget friendly(preferably no more than $140), and have a little room for growth as games get more demanding(be able to run new TW games and Sims 3)

Any help would be appreciated.

I've heard bad things from the 9400, but I have no first hand knowledge. EDIT: Oops, I was thinking of a different 9000 series card.

for a cheapish yet well performing graphics card, the Radeon HIS 4670 gets excellent reviews and is 70 after MIR.

Okay, I'm going to point you to this website, which should help you find a good recommendation whatever your price point maybe. My opinion is that most cards under the $70 isn't really work the money and effort of opening your computer, unless that card is a gift and hence free. Amazon is a really great website to buy from, but personally I shop at Newegg for computer parts and video cards, and I personally vouch for them. Their prices are really competitive, and their CS is bar-none.