iMac Questions

Moxio

CAGiversary!
Feedback
11 (100%)
This is for the Apple users on the boards. PC users, sorry.

~~

Well I'm here, an inch away from buying an iMac! But, of course, I've got some last questions.

(BTW this is all for the 20" iMac Intel Duo)

1) I understand from what I've heard that Boot Camp runs Windows very well (to the extent that it's like you're using a PC entirely). That means I can play any XP-compatible game I'd like, right? I hope so because I couldn't give them all up, . Also, is the X1600 a good graphics card? Is there any benchmarks so I can compare it to other cards?

2) I'm a student so I qualify for the student discount. However, is there any deals (minus the free iPod one) that I can grab? Is it safe to get a used Apple from someone on Craigslist or something? Or should I stick with a new Apple-shipped iMac?

3) 512 MB of RAM probably won't cut it for me, so I'll add (most likely) a 1GB 667 DDR2 SDRAM stick of some third party (Kingston, Corsair, whatever). Is this okay? Will it cause any sort of slowdown in comparison to Apple RAM? Because I don't want to shell out $270 for more RAM from Apple.

Welcome to the Mac community! I have a G4 ibook and love it. OSX is the shit, and I don't think I'll ever go back to windows.

Anyway, I'll try to answer a few of your questions in one shot. With bootcamp you can do ANYTHING that a PC can do. Oblivion, Splinter Cell, you name it, it will run on an intel mac. It's just like having a PC on your mac. I don't know about the video card, but upgrading to 256 for only $70 sounds good. You might want to ask on a mac specific board (www.mac-forums.com www.macrumors.com) because they should be able to answer the question better.

You imac will work with your router. Or it should in theory. Apple's come with drivers for about every router and printer known to man, maybe not every. This makes it compatible right out of the box. You should have no worries there.