Logitech developing Harmony remote to PS3 adapter!

lolwaut

CAGiversary!
Feedback
3 (100%)
http://blog.logitech.com/2009/03/...y-control/

Caught! We’re Going to Provide You with Logitech Harmony PS3 Blu-ray Control

By Troy Petersen // Global Product Marketing Manager, Gaming on March 20, 2009 | 26 Comments

Filed: Product, Remotes

Hello, I’m Troy Petersen. I’m a product marketing manager for gaming products, based in Logitech’s Fremont, Calif. office. I’m a huge sports nut and former sports journalist, and love playing golf (badly) and softball — though my new “hobby” of being a dad is my most rewarding activity. I’ve been with Logitech for more than six years and involved in tech for a decade.

I love my PLAYSTATION®3, especially the fantastic HD experience when watching Blu-ray movies. I’m also a huge fan of our Harmony remotes.

Yesterday, an Engadget reporter did some digging on an FCC Web site and uncovered our plans to manufacture an adapter that allows our Harmony remotes to control the PS3. We can’t give you all the details just yet, but we can say that this adapter will, when used with any Harmony remote, give you complete control of your movie-watching experience on PS3. It will also turn the PS3 on and off – and allow you to set up your Harmony activities to include the PS3 just as you would any other device. You also won’t need to dedicate any of your valuable USB ports to get that control.

We’ll have more information very soon, including pricing and availability. We hope you can wait just a little bit longer!

all i have to say is YAY! i know some of you are going to say "it's not a big deal to walk up to my ps3 and turn it on, as i have to put the disc in anyway." well, it IS a big deal to some of us. the fact that the harmony series is incompatible with the ps3 is the sole reason i havent bought one of logitech's highly rated high-end universal remotes.