NEW auction site....alternative to EBAY

I...don't see anything in your signature?

EDIT: And don't expect to throw any sort of referral link in there. You will almost certainly get flamed.

Hey folks, normally, I don't like to be "that guy"... we all know them, the ones who sign up to Advertise on a forum/website, but I have been lurking a little bit thought like to hear about this. Plus, I wanted to chime in before nectarsis got too flamed for helping me out with a plug :)

My name is Jasen Hicks, and I am a video game collector. I post mostly over at Digital Press, and occasionally at PCEngineFX (since the purchase of my TG setup). A little more about me, I am a 26 year old Naval Officer by day and now a small business owner! Yikes!

About a month ago, I noticed eBay was starting to get on peoples nerves, mostly those in the circles that I chat with... the gamers. I thought to myself, "Hey! I am a decent webmaster, and have some knowledge on Video Games and such... maybe I can start an alternative to eBay!" So I posted up the idea over at DigitalPress and at PCEngineFX. Some people liked the idea, and some people said "Dont do it! It's going to fail! They always do!" But after many hours of cranking away at a business plan, investing in software, learning about setting up a business in Florida, and such I decided the risk was worth it and opened GAMEGAVEL.COM. I figure that if I can help people avoid eBay and cater to the community I love to be a part of, then ill be happy (as long as I can break even at a minimum!)

The original opening date was scheduled to be March 1, 2008. However, I got it to the point where I was comfortable that any bugs that arose I could fix them rather quickly and so GameGavel.com was opened on February 23, 2008 at NOON EST. Within 36 hours, I was completely awe-struck, and humbled at the same time. There were already 70+ users signed up and over 140 auctions!