No Internet!

tayaf69

CAGiversary!
I am moving off to my college apartment today and my roomates and I had gotten rid of comcast in May, so I will be without Internet and Cable TV. I think I with die, but HOPEFULLY will go and buy a wireless PCI card so I can latch on to a fellow apartmenter (?sp???). Anyways, do any of you do this and what speed card should I get. Even If I did get comcast, they would not be out till later next week. I am dead serious, I NEED THE INTERNET! SOS

seriously, I'm no computer expert, but I was hoping some people here might know about Wireless connections. Would it be possible to connect to my school? I am right across the street. Thanks in advance.

The speed doesn't matter; any broadband connection is still slower than the slowest wifi. And as far as leeching off the school, that's entirely up in the air, you would have to try yourself.

There is no guarantee that you will even be able to connect to someone else, it depends on where their wireless router is... they might not even have a wireless router for u to leech off of, its not exactly an idea i would suggest but im not here to be the moral voice, u just asked for information on wifi

Connecting to another person's wireless network without their knowledge is a felony in most parts of the country, or at least a misdemeanor. I'd recommend not being that cheap, unless you can deal with some jail time.

Go spend some cheap money on dial-up or use the Internet in a free WiFi area, if you have a laptop. If you have a desktop, then you have a problem. If your school provides WiFi across the campus, it probably won't reach your apartment, if you're off-campus. It might, though don't count on it.

Someone called my name? Hehe.

Yah leeching someone else's wireless internet is punishable by law, don't try this at home, or at someone else's home. Go to the school computer lab or something, or go to a friend's apartment that has internet.