Online Retailer Trouble, any advice?

Lorik

CAGiversary!
Okay, I have heard amazing things about newegg.com's customer support. ALl the good feedback led me to believe ordering all my new CPU parts from them was a good choice. It was a great choice until tonight. I don't want to hate newegg, they've been nice (if nothing else) so far. This is my situation:

I am a poor college student, and I put aside money to build a new computer. I finally saved up just enough to pull this off. I bought a new motherboard, RAM, case, heatsink, and a refurbished processor. When I ordered the processor, I read the warnings about the possibility of accessories being missing. I knew I could handle any problems with missing accessories, so I ordered it.

My problem arose when I recieved the parts and installed everything. I reformatted my hard drive (and I had no way to backup anything) and I was thrilled. Then noticed something on my BIOS screen, the Athlon XP 2700+ that I ordered was actually an Athlon XP 2100+. That is quite a difference.

The worst part about it was that the packaging that the processor came in was the packaging for a Athlon XP 2700+. The wrong processor was in the package.

I called newegg that night and spoke with someone about how to resolve this. They had no more of this item in stock, so a straight up replacement was out. He offered me a refund, which I would not recieve until 5-7 days after the 2100+ was back in their hands. I asked him if they could issue a refund, or credit now so that I may order a new processor and have it in my hands ASAP, he said he would go ahead and put that through because of the circumstances. I was happy.

Well I called back today to check the status of the refund, and was informed that there would be no refund until they recieved the item. I explained that I was led to believe the refund had been issued and was informed that no refund could be issued.