Request, CPU power supply info

auralia

CAGiversary!
Feedback
12 (100%)
i'm not a complete noob i've done little things like ram, but i'm looking to get a new video card (currently looking at radeon x1600 512 card for about 130ish to 160ish) but to get this card i need a new power supply as i have a weak 320. I am looking at 520's and 600's. My question is are all Power supplys the same size? will just about every one out there fit in my computer (i have an hp 1050y media center w/ 2.8 P4 and 2 gig of ram (512x4) w/ 160gb hard drive and rt now i have a radeon 600 256 card w/ 4 pipelines)

the Video card will go in a PCI express slot.

The power supply i'm looking at now is this one:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16817148002

(i like this one cuz 3 fans w/ adjustable speed)

w/ this card

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16814131009

do these sound like they will work?

Cheaper PSU = cheaply made PSU = higher chance of it failing under loads.

Even though you have a lot of spare power, you really don't need all that wattage.. I'm calculating 280 watts needed. But that PSU has great amperage ratings, 35A on the +12V rail is more than enough for a single GPU which is something a lot of people overlook.

What you have will work, definitely.

With a >70% efficient PSU, you should be fine with 400-450 watts so 520 is more than enough... and I wouldn't cheap out too much on a PSU.

I'm not pickey on price of the power supply under 100 bucks would be nice, but in actuality if something is worth the extra it costs I'm willing to pay for it. If I get a good one now there is a good chance it can be "recycled" into my next PC.

Make sure that it is the correct power pin for your mobo. Look where the power supply connects to the motherboard and count how many slots in one row then double it. That's how you get the power pin information, that's really the only compatibility issue.