Seeking advice on a Wacom/Cintiq etc. tablet purchase

Haggar

CAGiversary!
Feedback
1 (100%)
Hey all,

I'm considering getting a Wacom tablet for art (cartooning/illustration) but have no experience with them. I have an art degree but in traditional art. Currently I'm scanning my illustrations into Photoshop then coloring them that way.

I was hoping to spend $300 or less, and I'd really prefer a wireless model. I was looking at the Bamboo line.

Any advice on models, sizes etc. would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited by a moderator:
I don't know much about Wacom tablets, but I've heard that a lot of people are picking up the uDraw THQ tablets for PS3 at Best Buy for $9.99 or less and using those tablets on PC instead of picking up Wacom tablets

[quote name='Scorch']I don't know much about Wacom tablets, but I've heard that a lot of people are picking up the uDraw THQ tablets for PS3 at Best Buy for $9.99 or less and using those tablets on PC instead of picking up Wacom tablets[/QUOTE]

um you might want to look into that situation scorch.

The guy who made the driver for it just got it to work in mouse emulator mode...will he develop it further ? I don't know..but for now it's buggy. :(

It all depends on how big your budget is? I bought one for 100 bucks that was like a 4x6 draw space. It was neat until I started getting cramps in my hand for drawing in a small area.

I don't have any experience with a Bamboo, but I'd really recommend the Intuos line. I've been using an Intuos 3 for about 6 years now. The increased pressure sensitivity between the two lines might not be noticeable, but I think the tilt-sensitivity and shortcuts and pen buttons are really useful. I don't think the Bamboo line even has an eraser at the end of the pen.