Setting up an ecommerce website

ryanbph

CAGiversary!
Feedback
25 (100%)
I am making a website for my families business. I am currently using a little bit of HTML, and a little bit of adobe go live to put this together. We are a manufacturing company and the site is to sell to our wholesale customers, as well as to solicit retail customers. I have no experience in creating a website, but I have taken some free online courses on HTML and adobe go live. I currently have a couple questions, but I am sure I will have more as the site progresses.

First off, what should the width of the site be. The rule of thumb that I heard in the free class was 800 pixels. Granted I am using a 21" wide mac monitor, but to me that looks really small. Taking the code from cheapass and putting it into go live, it looks like the dimensions on cag were about 1000 pixels wide. Does anyone have any recommendations on the size it should be?

I think the safest best would be to design for 800px first, if you have no prior knowledge on how your future visitors use the web (do they have their browser maximized?) or what their machines are capable of (EEE with a low resolution vs. iMac with a high resolution).

If you're worried that the narrow width would look small on bigger displays, you could try playing around with the background imagery so that the page appears to fill the entire browser, but is actually no more than 760 pixels in width (ie: this and that).

Good luck.

I would imagine that most of our wholesale customers have little/no knowledge of anything with a computer. We sell to gift shops across the country, and most small gift shops are typically owned by people over the age of 45.

As for potential retail customers, I guess that would vary.

also mrelusive, do you know what you have to type for code to get the zoom picture pop out like was shown on one of those sites?